Right Under A Giant...

a giant egret...that is.

The sea fog has lifted...giving way to cloudy skies...with an occasional peek at the sun. Warm, too...81 degrees F.

I've heard the expression..."They've got eyes in the back of their head" many times...but...these eyes are freaky. I was standing directly below the egret. The eyes must be on the underside of the head. I had to be careful...the freaky eyes were almost hypnotizing...and I was leaning against a very short rail. The looking up part made me dizzy.

This was actually my 3rd most favorite picture of the morning. A big blue heron taking off in silhouette was number #1, and Patrick...the personable, primitive, persnickety, perspicacious, patriotic pelican was #2. Perspicacious is a new word for me...meaning keen in observing; discerning; shrewd. And...patriotic...because he insisted on posing in front of the flag. Have a look on my FLICKR PAGE, and slap this into large to see the freaky deaky eyes-near-the-beaky pupils.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.