Cigs

By Cigs

Russell Road

Without wishing to sound too middle class, but...

My devious way of ensuring I could leave the house today, I had recently ordered some sporting equipment from Decathalon. Being a miserly skinflint, I went for Click and Collect instead of paying the £3.99 delivery charge. I figured I'd trek out on the bike at some point and get some miles in on the bike. But...

The order arrived on Wednesday; Thursday was my pilates class via Zoom. Friday - I was working AM and then the Ciglettes arrived. Sunday I've got a play date organised but haven't; obviously if the authroities show up, it's a complete coincidence that my friend and his son were in the park at the same time as me and the lads....

Monday is the dentist and Tuesday is the only opportunity I have to pick up the goods before the alloted 7 day window. The goods? Paddle board footwear. The love of my life has bought a paddle board. She also has oat milk in her flat white, loves avocado toast and is a member of 3 book groups. All she needs is a therapist to complete the set.

So Saturday morning, I hustled the Ciglettes through breakfast (granola and Greek yoghurt with a side of wholemeal muffins) and off on a day saver to Hermiston Gait to collect the neoprene boots. Up to the West End by bus and then we boarded a tram to the outskirts of town. We duly collected the boots; and even stopped in the Tesco superstore that's adjacent for some chicory and pomegranate to try out an Ottolenghi dish I'd spotted in last month's Guardian. 

With our business complete, we marched back to the tram stop and headed back into town. As the boys discussed Fellini movies they've watched, I idly gazed out the window; with a Mo Wax retrospective pod cast on Spotify to drown out any outside noise.....

Boom! As we passed Russell Road, down below was the Cigsvan!  The Shandon one! I had the camera to hand but by the time I'd raised it to my eye, we were passed! Damn.

"Right lads, we're getting off at the next stop and getting the next tram back out of town!" They looked at me quizically. I explained. They rolled their eyes. I headed them off at the pass and offered bribes in the form of sweets. 

So off we got at Haymarket. And after a short wait, we boarded the next tram heading back out to the airport... Of course the west bound trams are too far across to be able to see down onto Russell Road where the van is. No matter, we'll get off at Murrayfield and get another tram back to Haymarket; it'll be fine. Sure enough, we get off, and another 10 minute wait later we're heading back in. Settings are checked and a suitable seat is chosen. Right, here we go!

But for the exact moment I can get the shot, there's a car passing the back of the van, blocking the view!!! Aaargh! 

"I'm sorry guys, but we'll need to go change over at Haymarket again and head back and have another go".

So we repeat the endeavour; with the added bonus of having to check Alex's diabetes numbers and feed him sushi for lunch. (He's also got a pot of olives and a smoothie as part of his meal deal)

Once more we board the tram for town; we're just about there when the ticket inspector comes along. I quickly grab the ticket and thrust it into Tom's hand so he can show the guy our ticket. But not quickly enough!!! We're past the van again! FFS

We get off at Haymarket. I decide we should just get a bus to Roseburn and do this on foot; to hell with the moving shot from a tram. So a 26 arrives; we head to Roseburn and plod off down Russell Road. I get to the 90 degree left hander and turn it, expecting the van to be gone now. As you can see from the blip, it hadn't. Phew...!

Tom gamely volunteers* to be the person for scale in the shot; and with relief as much as anything we head back into town.

The afternoon was spent in the dark room; developing today's offering. 

For the statisticians - this is only the 2nd CIgs on Russell Road. 0.18% of Cigs tags have been on this street; which is quite low considering 8.3% of Cigs were in EH11. A point that Andrew Marr will be discussing tomorrow on his TV show after the MOTD repeat.

*was suitably bribed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.