OMP

By OMP

Bridge trek

Today's blip may not be exciting, but the effort to get to this spot deemed this a worthy image...

This bridge was built last summer... I find it charming that they bothered to keep it old fashioned and left the cement behind. As we watched the bridge being built, I kept thinking that it would make an interesting photograph from the river below.
I drive over this bridge almost daily and it's very close to my home, but the only way to get to the base (by foot) is through the state park trails. The snow there is only thigh deep...
Armed with snowshoes (they help a little), I packed on my gear and hiked a bit over a mile ('over the hills and thru the woods') to get to it.
I sort of set up the tripod & kneeled in the snow to get my shot. Now, remember, I'm in snowshoes. Kneeling in them is awkward, as they are now vertical behind me. As I click away I don't realize that my knees are sinking... Uh oh, too late. I'm stuck and the snowshoes are working against me. How to get out of this AND keep my camera out of the snow...
Someone should have been videoing me - rolling around, trying to get up, laughing at my ridiculous predicament.
Eventually I made it back, and regardless of how it turned out, it was gonna be my blip today! :) I'm ready for a nap!

Big, bad, bridge.

Thank you all so much for the comments on yesterday's blip! I smiled all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.