Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Sparrowhawk #12

Lockdown 3.0 Day #13

The circle of life got a bit gruesome this morning on the patio. We were just watching the end of the England innings V Sri Lanka in the test match and all of a sudden three pigeons flew into the patio window and we saw a sparrowhawk lunge at one and catch it right before our eyes. It was so quick. He (at least I think it's a he) had it in his clutches and we both watched in awe as it started to pluck it. Not wanting to disturb it, I gingerly reached for my camera which luckily was by my side, and fired off a few shots through the window. It was so close. Whilst I tried to manoeuvre into a better position I disturbed it and he took his kill onto the lawn which was better for me. Then it all turned very gruesome as he somehow managed to get covered in blood. There are a couple more shots in extras as I didn't want to use a really graphic shot as my main blip as I know some people are a bit squeamish, so please don't look if you don't like the sight of blood!  I know it's not nice for the pigeon and it's all a bit gory but it is only nature and we were fascinated. Then our next door neighbour came into their garden making some noise and scared it off. 
An exciting few minutes for a Sunday morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.