Not a day for gardening

Not a good day today! It started off well and I thought I might do a bit of gardening. There's the remains of an old wall at the bottom of our slope, beside the road, which is full of small ash seedlings. I thought I would pull those out and plant a tray full of Mitraria coccinea that I rooted from Arduaine cuttings; they would cover the bank and climb up the tree too.  A beautiful sprawling shrub from Chile - see extra. Unfortunately the weather turned to wind and rain, so I gave up the idea. 

My Blip today is a pot of hyacinth bulbs which I've not long brought in from an outside 'frame'. For some reason the flowers seem to be growing away from the light, unlike green foliage which grows towards it!  They're going to need staking, as usual.

Limerick of the Day:

A gardener who hated forsythia
Couldn’t stand escallonia either.
He wondered “How could I
Choose which one I should buy?”
So he ended up going for neither!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.