The Pokey Hat

Today began well, quite bright, so I nipped down the bank - no, not down to the bank! - to plant the Mitraria I intended to plant yesterday before it turned wet. I had eight to plant, plus one more Fatsia to add to the three already there. I hadn't been there long before it began to rain! Duh! I got them all in and spent 15 minutes (at least) talking to a lady with a dog, fairly new neighbours from up the road. The dog was a golden retriever by the name of Bowie. I'd not met them before.

After lunch I walked downtown again and had a wander around with the camera. Rather gloomy for photographs, so I took a few pictures in shop windows, including this  masked bear who was enjoying an ice cream. For those of you furth of Scotland an ice cream cone is known as a Pokey Hat, which is also the name of this shop. As a kid in the south of England I knew an ice cream cone as a cornet. I assume that this is where the later 'Cornetto' came from!

Quote of the Day:

Charles M Schultz - "Life is like an ice-cream cone, you have to lick it one day at a time."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.