All in the game

A dry day today, as in no rain, but it still felt damp and cold. I did my usual walk downtown after lunch, going down the north side today and cutting through on a small passage between streets. It was there I met a black and white collie sitting patiently behind a gate, outside of which sat a yellow tennis ball. From his excitement at seeing me turn up it was obvious that he was hoping I would play with him! I threw the ball down the length of the tarmac and he caught it and brought it back. It failed to roll through the gate so I told him I couldn't reach it and he lifted it up and directed it under the gate. This went on for quite a while, every other time it needing a nudge to push it under the gate. He was so quick that it was almost impossible to get a photograph - this is the best of a bad bunch! Eventually I had to leave him, but will look out for him next time I'm going that way!
 
Limerick of the Day:
 
I was walking today past a gate
Where a collie had lain down to wait.
With his ball he was hoping,
As he lay there a-moping
That someone would rise to the bait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.