Up the garden path

Beverley Nichols may have written 'Down the Garden Path', but my story will be called 'Up the Garden Path'!

Today began well, sunny in fact, but it dulled over later. It's not rained however, so I've been outside, first clearing leaves down at the roadside in front of our garage, where all the leaves congregate after falling off the bank. After lunch I did a bit more path-making, if that's what I can call it, chipping along the bank with my little hand mattock, a very useful tool and perfect for the job. All I want to do is to make a narrow access path which will allow me to move along what is a 45 degree bank to plant and maintain. I don't intend to take guests along it! I might put a handrail below it if there's enough depth of soil to hold posts - the bedrock is not far below. 

Not a very pretty Blip, but it's what I did today! At the top left you can just see the edge of the deck beside the house and at the bottom right, the parking area in front of the garage is just visible. Nobody said it was going to be easy, gardening in retirement!

Quote of the day:
John Buchan 'The Gap in the Curtain' - "Success depends on seeing just a little more into the future than other people."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.