PandaPics

By pandammonium

Beetroot

After not becoming best mates with my new soup machine on the first go, the other day, I followed a recipe from the back of the book for mushroom soup. I thought following a proper recipe would help me learn how to use it better, especially with respect to the ratio of solid to liquid. The soup came out runnier than the mushroom soup I made in my old soup machine, but it was nevertheless tasty and a big improvement on the butternut squash soup.

Yesterday, I made beetroot soup for today (pictured). I put two bunches of beetroot in the pressure cooker with the stalks. When they were cooked and had cooled a bit, I peeled the beetroots wearing food-safe plastic gloves. I quartered them and put them in the soup machine along with the cooking liquid from the pressure cooker. I bunged in a stock cube and set the machine to make smooth soup.

We had some warmed up today for lunch garnished with chives, black pepper and oat cream. It tasted very beetrooty. The texture was smooth, not bitty. It was quite thick, but not too thick. I’d call this one a success!

Apart from the stupid handle on the lid, this new machine is growing on me.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.