some days should simply be

Mentioned the other day that I was having a bit of an Eavan Boland renaissance - and very fortunately, I recently received her pictured, 2020 collection; which was published posthumously ...

... here's a favourite as taken from within:


BE

If I think of it
what I see are hills ---
kinetic, never still
shadows building
necessary blues
to make dusk.

If I think of it,
it is already autumn,
whitethorn trees
with their steeped-
in-tannin leaves
disappearing in
the frame of my window.

If I think of it
what I see are
the first days of spring,
snowdrops just barely
visible, but how
they came to be there
I will never know.

All I know is
as the light went my
infant daughters
were asleep in it,
brightness arcing towards
a cambered distance.

All I know is
some days
should simply be.
Not be remembered.

---

Eavan Boland (1944 - 2020)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.