MONO MONDAY

I got up this morning determined to give the kitchen a good clean - well it has been a while - so put on some music that was more meditative than upbeat, because that’s how I was feeling, and began.  I was getting on very well but suddenly, I felt an overwhelming sadness, but wasn’t sure why.  I went out into the hall, sat on the bottom stair, had a little tear and then had a chat with God to ask Him why I was feeling so sad;  then I remembered that a reminder had popped up on my phone to say “Mum’s birthday” for next Monday, the 25th January - so I realised then why I felt so sad.

It’s fair to say that my relationship with my Mum wasn’t always easy, but in the last few months of her life, we got on very well and I would say I felt closer to her than I had in my whole life, so the fact that she won’t be here for her birthday is a source of sadness to me.

Added to that, there is a little bit of humour - because Mum always said she wanted to live long enough to get her 100th birthday telegram from The Queen, so I’m sure on the 25th January 2024, we, as a family, will do something to honour that day, but I have no doubt that next Monday, we will raise a glass to Mum.

Rather than finish cleaning in the kitchen, I decided to go out for a walk to “my field” so quickly put on my walking garb, including my thermals because although it was sunny, I could tell there was a cold wind.  I needed walking boots because I realised the field would be boggy in places, and it certainly was.  In fact, it was positively squelchy and I had to be careful where I was walking.

For Mono Monday, we are asked by Picturemull to do something in the style or in response to a New Year shot, so although 1st January 2021 has come and gone, I was delighted to see all the signs of hope and new birth around me in my field.  The grass was very long - and very wet - and I noticed my jeans had at least three inches of wet all around the bottom, but fortunately my legs didn’t get wet.  

There were many more alder catkins than I had seen a couple of weeks ago and the buds on the oak, sycamore, horse chestnut and willow trees are growing well and will soon be bursting forth.  I took several shots of the buds on the large oak tree, and this is one of them.  The lichen on the branches was so beautiful and I stood marvelling at the beauty of nature for sometime. 

I didn’t actually play any of my music as I walked, but just enjoyed the sights and sounds of nature and even heard and saw a Red Kite - my second this morning as I had seen one earlier as I looked out of our bedroom window.  

My sadness lifted, I walked back home feeling much better - proof that getting out and spending time immersed in nature is good for the soul.

Those who contemplate the beauty of the earth 
     find reserves of strength that will endure 
          as long as life lasts. 
There is something infinitely healing 
     in the repeated refrains of nature - 
          the assurance that dawn comes after night, 
               and spring after winter.”
Rachel Carson : Silent Spring

P.S.  I have just done a radio interview with Jo, the presenter, for the Wednesday edition of "Girls About Town" on the subject of "Hope" - quite appropriate today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.