DIDN'T WE HAVE A LOVELY DAY...

...the day we went to Bath Spa.  Mr. HCB decided to “whisk me away” to Bath today, mainly to stop me doing any housework - little knowing that I have instructions from a dear friend not to do any on a day ending in “y”!  

My hand is very much better and although my palm is still a little sore at the injection site, I have no pain in my finger and can bend it quite freely, so I hope that the injection will also stop it triggering.  The doctor did say that she could see that I had the beginnings of Dupuytren's contracture in both hands, but I’m not going to worry about that now - the actor, Bill Nighy, seems to cope with it and I will too!  She did say that if the injection doesn’t work, she can do another and failing that, she would recommend surgery, but hopefully that is a long time in the future.

We had a lovely day out together in Bath, the weather was sunny and warm and it was a pleasure to just wander around, but we did  notice, like Swindon, what a lot of empty shops there were and it was very quiet.  Normally it's quite a bustling place, but there weren't that  many people about and obviously not many tourists.  We popped into a couple of shops and I bought a few things in Lakeland - who goes in there and doesn’t come out with something?  

We decided to treat ourselves to lunch at Côte Brasserie in Bath, and I even stuck to my new way of eating;  I had a steak and Mr. HCB had sea bream - and I even gave Mr. HCB most of my French fries, so felt very virtuous.  Although we weren’t driving, not a drop of alcohol passed our lips, we just happy to be out and to be together.  We both said how much we had enjoyed it and how much we had missed doing it, so will certainly do it again before too long. 

We went on the train, so let that take the strain and very pleasant it was too.  School turning out time was over by the time we got back to the station about 15 minutes before 4 o’clock, so we decided to come home on the bus, our first foray onto a bus for almost 2 years and we were indoors at 4.01 - having left Bath at 3.13 - so we were pleased with that.  Mind you, we were glad to rip off our masks as we got off the bus, when Mr. HCB remarked that it was the longest he had ever worn a mask since they were made mandatory.  My response was that we were very fortunate it was just a day - our D-i-L, along with thousands of others in the caring and retail sector have to wear one all day, every day!

All in all, a lovely day - so I decided to make a collage to document it. 

“Do what makes you happy, 
     be with who makes you smile, 
          laugh as much as you breathe, 
               and love as long as you live.” 
Rachel Ann Nunes

P.S.  Thank you for all your good wishes, comments and stars for yesterday’s Blip - I may need a couple more days before I am back to commenting fully, but do appreciate your kindness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.