Annieone

By Annieone

Just Some Baking...!!!

I feel like I am going slowly demented with day after day of sameness...so this morning I decided I had to concentrate on something to distract me ..so I baked..!!
Nothing spectacular obviously....just various bread...which I am not good at so no harm to get plenty of practice...!
Even though they are small we won’t be able to eat it all so I may give some to a neighbor..
My two extras are the last two handy gadgets I bought before Brexit...!! A multi spoon rest that’s proving soooo handy and a silicone rolling mat that Doesn’t Move!! I had what I thought was a very good pastry mat but even weighted down it still moved .....drove me ‘nuts’....this is fantastic..!!

Now a brief story about how I was well and truly ‘Brexited’
I decided I’d like to crochet a Temperature blanket....so I love to shop on Etsy.com and found a lovely complete pack..everything included..64 Euros...so I went into ‘Checkout’ and you will never guess or believe what it was going to cost me to get it to Ireland.......?????
Well it was €105 euros 50 cent....I was gob-smacked...unfortunately I think this may well mean the end if my shopping on UK websites...
We’d had a leaflet in the letterbox from our An Post to tell us about the changes and that they had done a deal with 95% of UK retailers to include the cost of Irish VAT ..handling charges etc but I think that’s a shocking increase!!
If I’ve told this story already my apologies but I’m still speechless....it will mean more support for our own home based Irish business I suppose...but I’ll miss the larger choice..!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.