JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Wemyss cat.

An unbelievably lazy day.  I did start the day strenuously.  A huge package of salt and grit arrived at my front door.   The delivery man could hardly lift it.  I thought I might have to phone Andy for help but I got a large door mat, tipped it onto that and dragged it through to the kitchen door.  Then tipped it end over end onto the garden path, and dragged the package to where the old dustbin was.  Removed the packaging,  left the plastic sack standing and settled with coffee feeling quite pleased with myself. 
Was about to go out and photograph when I remembered I needed to make a casserole so got to work. Didn't take long and off I went to Birnie to discover I had left my camera bag at home.   Duh !   Walked all the way round the loch which was good, came back, looked at the sack of salt and grit, turned the dust bin on its side, pushed the sack over into the dustbin and with not too much effort got the bin upright.  Felt very smug.  Read news for hours until I remembered there was no photo.  Luckily my Wemyss cat saved the day.  One of the first reproductions made by a local potter years ago of the original Wemyss Ware.

Wemyss Ware was a line of pottery first produced in 1882 by Czech decorator Karel Nekola and Fife pottery-owner Robert Heron. The pottery took its name from the Wemyss family, titled incumbents of Wemyss Castle on the east coast of Fife, who were early and enthusiastic patrons of Nekola and Heron's ceramic creations. After being desirable in its own day, the pottery subsequently became extremely popular with collectors. Since 1985, the name has been used by the Griselda Hill Pottery in Ceres, Fife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.