Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Wannabe son-in-law

After nearly 3 years it was time to get rid of the irresponsible Beach Buggy and now before 21st birthday, settle down to a good sensible middle class life. And so the Saab 96 was purchased. I can't remember how much it cost, how much I managed to sell the Buggy for either.

I don't even remember how I found it & bought it. I think the first two letters of the registration number "CX", means it came from Bangor, Wales, but I have feeling it was arranged through the Saab dealer in Norwich at Harvey Lane, Catton. The reason: my girlfriend's mother had a Saab 96 from that garage and had kept dropping hints about the security of her daughter in the Buggy. Mother had had a bad accident on a drive from seeing her very sick (MS) husband at Stoke Mandeville, caused by a boy racer in a Mini. Sporty cars were not her favourite.

I am pretty sure Annie was just as pleased to see the Buggy go after 2 years of dressing up like an Eskimo to keep warm in winter and wear a full leg covering dustbin bag when the rain came in through all the gaps. We did have a lot of fun with it, including a trip over to Germany and a long tour of Southern Germany, all without a single hitch. I was quite pleased too, the Buggy had caused me many frustrating days and oily hands - those were the days when one could tinker about with cars.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.