Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A day in lockdown life

Monday. I heard -fleetingly - on the radio this morning that this is the bluest day of the winter in terms of mental wellbeing, though I would question if it has quite the same impact on people who aren't going out to work. Mondays for me just now are distinguished only by the Pilates class that I'm determined to attend online at the proper time on the proper day, just to give structure (minimal) to the day and to the week. Today's class felt like very hard work; our teacher suggested that the additional walking that her clients are doing can cause muscle pain and joint stiffness, and though I'm personally not doing any more walking than usual this probably applies to me.

After that, I made leek and potato soup for the first time in my life. I used to adore the Cuppasoup version (I know, I know!) but had been struck by dire indigestion once during a sleep-over at a friend's house when we'd had this soup and hot buttered toast for supper, and had as a result developed a prejudice against it. I have to say it was delicious, in all its pale green silkiness, and that I don't seem to have suffered unduly.

My blip and the extra were taken on another of these walks that begin too late (we both fell asleep, like really old people, after lunch!) along the far side of Loch Eck. The waterfall was a lovely thing, long and thin and vigorous, and I loved the vivid mosses all around it; the view of the loch is one I keep taking from slightly different angles because I just love the way Loch Eck disappears westward among its surrounding hills. 

The day was punctuated by bickering. It's very hard not to when there is no mitigating company to deflect mutual irritation. I'm hoping that vaccination will protect against this as well - or is that asking too much? And is it hoping too much that the news that Nicola says my age group will be  vaccinated by the middle of February turns out to be accurate? Hope is in many ways harder to live with than resignation ... not that I've achieved that either. 

At least I'm taking a class on poetry tomorrow - a landmark in the week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.