Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Redpolls

First day back south and Mrs L needs to go shopping in Stevenage. Okay I say, but it'd be a shame to head that far north without popping in to neighbouring Bedfordshire where Mealy Redpolls and Tundra Bean Geese were being reported.

First stop the RSPB's headquarters at The Lodge where the feeders by the shop were rather busy. Siskins, Chaffinches, Bramblings, Great Tits, Blue Tits, Coal Tits, Dunnocks & Redpolls. I should have brushed up more on distinguishing Mealy Redpolls from Lesser Redpolls, but I took the approach of firing the camera off at the Redpolls especially those that seemed a bit greyer. Second stop Radwell north of Bedford. As we were leaving Bedford in a southerly direction I realised our navigation wasn't too hot, but eventually we got there, but the distant views through trees didn't produce any Tundra Bean Geese. Third stop Asda, nuff said.

Looking through my photos of the Redpolls, there's definitely three birds that are good candidates for being Mealy Redpolls, but I'm really not convinced, so today's photo is of a Lesser Redpoll - Brown back, buff wing bar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.