AndrewFH

By AndrewFH

Three Brothers

The weather this morning was not as bad as forecast but the rain started soon after lunch and is not expected to stop now before Thursday. With ground that is already saturated it seems that there will be flooding in some places. Work did continue in the garden replacing the fence and preparing the ground to move the small greenhouse.
Pilates and saxophone duets for me this morning, since it is Tuesday. Getting ready this afternoon for tomorrow's saxophone lesson and camera club.
Today's image is an old photo sent to me recently by my aunt, who was the wife of the youngest boy in the photo. She didn't think it was her husband to be and wanted me to identify who the three are. I didn't immediately recognise my father, who is the young man standing at the back. The other two are his surviving brothers, as the eldest was killed in a motorcycle accident in 1938. I have dated the image to around 1942 and was probably taken before Douglas (seated and in uniform) went off to war. I had not seen this image before and realised that I don't think I have or have seen photos of my father when he was in his teenage years as I don't think many (if any exist.) If I am right, my father will just have started work for the company who worked for the rest of his working life. I find their expressions convey quite different thoughts and responses to the occasion. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.