In Which T. Tiger and I Make a Shelving Unit

Fresh off our success at building a desk together, T. Tiger and I decided to undertake an additional, smaller project: putting together a shelving unit. The shelving unit was brand new, and it was sitting in a box at my big sister's house when I came across it and nabbed it. Her books. Her poems. Her class ring. Her last Starbucks cup from the beach. The shelving unit was among so many other things she left behind.

The box has been sitting in the shed since I brought it home from her house. I wasn't really sure where I wanted to put it, or what I wanted to store on it, or even if I had room for it. So it sat. But recently, as I was setting up a new home office in what used to be Dexter's room, my husband brought the box inside.

"Shall we do this, T. Tiger?" I asked. And the Tiger said we should indeed. And so we did! In less than one hour, we had put it all together. The shelves themselves are adjustable, and so I set them up to fit the size of DVDs. And what do you know, our whole collection of TV series DVDs fit on it just perfectly!

In this photo, T. Tiger himself is sitting on the top shelf of the unit, with the DVD sets beside and below him. Oh, there's Blacklist, a Garth Brooks set, Criminal Minds, Dexter (of course; where did you think we got the cat's name?), Ghost Whisperer, Gotham, Hannibal, The Mentalist, Person of Interest, Sex and the City, Starsky & Hutch, Supergirl, and The Wild Wild West.

Now we have all of them together and in one place, and in alphabetical order to boot. And I am already trying to talk my husband into several more seasons of some of our favorites. It's good, harmless entertainment that has helped get us through the pandemic times: something fun to watch, and they're not even that expensive. (We recently bought the first two seasons of The Wild Wild West for just $10 apiece. What a steal!)

The process for putting together the little shelving unit was rather easy. Unlike with the desk, the instructions for this unit included actual WORDS in addition to numbers and diagrams. I can't say it was QUITE as easy as just three steps (OK, it was six steps), but here's a song to go along with this story: Lynyrd Skynyrd, with Gimme Three Steps. Well done, T. Tiger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.