Winter Morning Selfie: Me, Walking Up That Hill

Hello, and well met! - from the snowy and icy tundra that is central Pennsylvania! I am one of those neighborhood walkers you see, out walking around in every kind of weather. I usually go for my walk in the morning, as shortly after I've gotten up seems like a really good time to get the blood moving. I don't usually take the camera, but I did on this day.

I've been walking my whole life, and my husband and I are hikers and backpackers. But I amped things up by walking every single day since February 28 of last year. Sometimes the walk can be swapped out for a swim or a long bike ride. (I've recently decided that an hour's snow shoveling can count as an equivalency, too.)

I'm usually out for about 35 to 40 minutes. Sometimes an hour or more, depending on where I go. I've got several little routes mapped out in my head so that I can walk from my house. There are a few routes that take me to the Scotia Barrens to visit my favorite ponds or walk the Mahala path. This day's walk took me along the roads behind our house.

I am a happy, friendly walker, and I say Hello or Good Morning to everyone I see. It may be that you do not like your neighbors much, because you don't know them very well. If you met them individually on the street, you might just become friends!

This route took me down the road I live on, past the trees where the vultures hang out, and to a little park called Autumn Meadow (isn't that charming?). From there, I crossed the road, headed up the hill, and then came back via Stonerow, passing the final house I looked at while house shopping, just before I bought the one we live in now.

The temperature was in the 20s F, so you may notice that while my cheeks are quite pink, I don't have my Big Coat on yet. The Big Coat, not pictured, is a Woolrich special, and it is reserved for even lower temps than these. I used to wear it when I rode the bus. I could sort of tuck myself into it and almost live in that thing. It also has lots of glorious POCKETS, which is important to girls like me.

I've got my earbuds in and my tunes box wailing on high. Something really good, from that special "Music to save my life" playlist I finally made, and have not changed since I put it on my little pink iPod shuffle. Every song on it is good, and when I get to a great one, I sometimes play it 3 or 4 times!

And you might be surprised, if you were watching, to see that as I am walking, sometimes I actually go dancing, for I am a girl with diamonds on the soles of her shoes!!! :-)

Watch, now, how I start the day,
in happiness, in kindness.
~Mary Oliver.

My soundtrack songs are these: Paul Simon and Ladysmith Black Mambazo, with Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes. And Kate Bush, with Running Up That Hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.