curns' corner

By curns

Global vision

In the living room there is a globe that’s also a lamp.  It’s a nice light that sits to one side but it doesn’t give off a light.  Tonight, for no real reason, I stared looking at it and I was struck by how long it has been since I traveled anywhere outside the UK (and even inside the country).

I used to travel a lot for work until I switched to my latest job back in July 2018. I went from a period where I was away for work about four or five nights a month to one where it was four or five nights a year.  Since the COVID lockdowns I didn’t even do that. 2020 might be the first year since the mid-1990s that I didn’t go outside the UK for work for at least one night in the year.

I haven’t really missed business travel but, suddenly, this evening I thought it would be nice to go and see a bit of the world again. So, I am hoping for the end of lockdowns and trip. Who knows where?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.