Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

A great day out!

A different day for us and an adventure!

We headed off to La Campana building this morning for the appointment we were allocated just yesterday in order to continue the process of getting our Spanish driving licences. We got there 30’ before my appointment time at 9.15 and then had to wait in a big waiting room with about 20 other people, all clutching papers, masked and socially distanced. I politely asked one man to pull his mask up over his nose, which he did. Bb and I had to be attended to separately and then met together to go downstairs to another building for our 'medicals'. I was nervous because I know I need a new prescription for my glasses - but passed the test! Then the co-ordination test, which was administered by a young, masked sergeant major of a lad. He made me feel nervous and because he told me to take my glasses off, I couldn't see him properly when he was telling me what to do! Anyway, I somehow managed to to steer the little white blocks on the black roads on the screen sufficiently well, just by clutching the levers by my fingertips - I had my glasses on for this by the way. The 'glasses off, don't move, don't speak' part was for looking into the camera to get a photo taken. I took my mask off the wrong way of course and was reprimanded. Then back upstairs clutching our medical certificates, which were added to our other paperwork and at 12.15 we left clutching our new temporary Spanish licences. Success! We can't travel anyway, but if we could, we wouldn't be able to drive in the UK on these temporary licences. We should receive our new licences in the post in 6 weeks. Watch this space!

Bb and I hooted afterwards about it all. He had the co-ordination test first, came out the room and decided it was best not to tell me about it and then because I took so long, he thought I’d failed! He went downstairs clutching the results of the test, not knowing if it was ok or not. At least the young sergeant major had told me mine was all ok, perhaps as I’d told him he was making me nervous! Bb was asked his weight and height and wondered how I’d managed with the height question (I only know I’m 5ft 6' but not in metres), but I was never asked those questions. A rushed taxi home at 12.10 to get online at 12.30 with the trainees.

Isn't it amazing what now passes as a great day out?!

To celebrate we had a Chinese carry out for dinner - Peking duck. Living the high life!

Now we await an announcement tomorrow. The current curfew from10pm to 6am might be extended to from 8pm to 6am. We'd suffer with this as we usually have a walk around 8 for an hour or longer. 12,000 steps today.

My blip's a sneaky shot in the government traffic office, La Campana.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.