JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 19: my great-aunt's work basket

How tiny is tiny? I intended to photograph sloes and tiny lichens in the hedgerow for Tiny Tuesday, but it was far too windy and rainy to attempt anything close up outside. Instead, I did a little more of the planned new year sort out of my unreasonably large stash of knitting and sewing materials. I am not progressing very fast, because I keep finding interesting things to reminisce and dream over. My great aunt brought my mother up when she was orphaned at eight in the 1930s, and I inherited her work basket in 1974. It still contains many of her sewing essentials, including enough packets of needles to make it unlikely I will ever need to buy one. The photo in the extra shows three different types of needle. I don't know how old they are, or if they are really small enough to qualify for Tiny Tuesday, but I like the designs of the packets, and the scraps of vintage fabric, which I guess may be from the 1950s. I also love the sense of continuity and sustainability I find in using needlecraft and kitchen items which belonged to my mother or great aunt, things which have served for many decades and hold family memories and stories.

These are quick photos on my little compact, so not great quality; I intended to return to them later with the big camera, but spreadsheets and emails took over what was left of my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.