A monitor lizard in the dried up river bed

Wandering to the beach I spotted this huge monitor lizard in the dried up river bed. It was only about thirty yards from the main road bridge which the river normally flows under to cross the beach. The river drains the valley inland but in 'summer' there is no flow.

These lizards wander about quite safely free from pressure by local people. I even saw one walking through a beach cafe a day ago. As you will see my camera is somewhat limited having a fixed lens with no zoom at all. I have had to crop into the image very heavily but I hope you can see its amazingly colourful and beautiful scaly exterior and its very long tail. I think it must have been at least five feet in overall length. I watched it cross the water and then move slowly upstream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.