Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Sea Glass

As predicted, there’s nothing inviting us outside today. The rain is continuous. 

Yesterday’s walk, however, had an added bonus: a precious find. For the first time on our beach, I came across a piece of sea glass, a small, pale-green nugget reshaped by the waves. 

I love sea glass, the milkiness of its colour, the stories it could tell. This is probably not the most perfect piece - if indeed such a thing exists - it still has corners to be smoothed, but I still pocket it eagerly. 

Today, I discover that photographing sea glass is not as easy as I thought. Daylight is dull and muted, and artificial light turns my pale green glass gold. Mono works well, but I really want the colour. In the end I decide to recreate my own rock pool, and place it on black pebbles. A narrow depth of field is essential to avoid details of the kitchen window - the brightest day light I can find! Other attempts  are in extras! 

I love the poem ‘I want to age like sea glass’. I’m sure most of you know it, but just in case .....


I want to age like sea glass.
Smoothed by tides
But not broken
I want my hard edges to soften.
I want to ride the waves
And go with the flow.
I want to catch a wave
And let it carry me
To where I belong.
I want to be picked up 
And held gently by
Those who delight in my
Well earned patina and 
Appreciate the changes I went 
Through to achieve that beauty.
I want to enjoy the journey 
And always remember that if
You give the ocean something 
Breakable it will turn into something beautiful.
I want to age like sea glass. 


I’m writing this listening to Joe Biden - as he says ‘democracy has prevailed’. It’s an emotional day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.