The toppling of Stonehenge, and other stories

One of Ottawacker Jr.'s birthday gifts this year - from his friend W. - was a set of dominoes. "Oh great," I thought, thinking back to the days when I worked in a pub and old men playing dominoes - all replete in flat caps and, naturally, carrying whippets - were the soundtrack to my working afternoons. 

It turned out, however, that they weren't that type of domino. These were brilliant, multi-coloured ones, that you could place in lines along tables or on the floor, and then knock over with a very satisfying flick. I wish someone would give me dominoes for my birthday - but knowing my luck, I'd just get the whippet.

Anyway, rumour has it we might have some snow sometime soon, so Ottawacker Jr. can stop wearing his luminous orange Liverpool kit (which makes him, at times, indistinguishable from Tui, the cat) and perhaps settle into a nice anthracite kit - or whatever the shade has been described as this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.