If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wainwright's

While I was pondering what to blip today the TV reminded me today is the anniversary of the death of Alfred Wainwright MBE.   Thirty Years!   It can't be that long surely?   Where has the time gone?

So I thought I would do a ,little still life to mark the anniversary.  For the uninitiated A Wainwright was an author who produced guide books.  It is a bit of an insult in my opinion to call then just guide books.   They are works of art filled with the most fascinating sketches of parts of the route.

There has also developed the system of bagging "Wainwrights" which is keeping a list of visits to all the 214 fells in his seven volume "Pictorial guide to the Lake District.  In total he produced over 40 books.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.