If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

It's that time of year again.

Before the end of January nest boxes need cleaned out of last years detritus and if they need maintenance or moving that should be done as well.

This "woodcrete" one has had a bit of a chequered career.  We placed it on top of a 2 m (6ft) tree stump covered with ivy.   In the first year it was used by Great Tits despite being right beside the main path to the door.  When I went to clear it out that winter I had started to pick it up when a wood mouse looked out at me.  So I gently put it down and left it alone.  I assumed this was a permanent home so didn't clear it that winter.  The next spring no mice as the box was used by Bumblebees.   Tree Bumble bees in fact.

I approached cleaning the box with a little trepidation as the Queen might have been hibernating in there.   The box needs moved as we have a project for that area so the box needed moved.  What I found was a surprise:  seven garden snails, lots of small Woodlice and three earthworms.  How earthworms made it up to that height and then into the box remains a mystery.

Incase somebody counts you can't see all the snails in this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.