Hope

It's a new day, a very emotional day. We've been glued to the tv, watching the inauguration of President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris.
Such an excellent address from the President, and what a relief to have a monumental shift in perception about what service to one's country means. It's not going to be an easy road ahead, but I'm hopeful that Biden, Harris and their team will bring about much needed changes in the US. 
I feel like a huge burden has been lifted, and that the "...exhausting outrage...."* that G and I have felt for the past 4 years will change into uplifting relief. We're not Americans, but I'm sure we're not the only citizens of other countries who have been glued to their tvs today and who feel a similar relief. 
The performances by Lady Gaga, JLo, Garth Brooks, and especially the reading of her poem by Amanda Gorman were outstanding.  I'm looking forward to the concert tonight.
I'm off to continue watching the coverage of this historic day. We've lived through many historic events, G and I, and we agree that this is one of the most significant of them. 
Feeling good because It's a New Day  (from 2009 after Obama became President - and the words are even more significant) 
*from Biden's speech

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.