Shredding bark on arbutus driftwood

I had a really good walk this morning, just along the road but thankfully there was very little traffic.  A huge arbutus was brought in by the tide, and I added an extra of it. This is part of it, with the bark shredding. I rarely look at one of my images and think, "I really like this." I really like this one because it looks like there's land beyond the log where the bark ends and the smooth trunk begins, and a horizon, which is really the edge of the log. Not sure if I'm explaining that properly.
The second extra is Breakfast at the Beach. A guy feeds the swans, and he was just walking up from the beach when I got there. I've wondered for a few years what he feeds them and this is the first chance I've had to ask him. Whole barley. The swans and ducks were tucking in, but I saw one of the swans reach out to peck at a duck, so no wonder the ducks seemed a bit leery. The third extra is a reflection that reminded me of the excellent reed reflections that Picturemull posts. Nowhere near as good as hers, but I was glad to spot this one.
Can't believe how much relief I feel today after yesterday's events!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.