wind chime

It's been a cracking day today - bright sunshine with an icy wind from somewhere snowy in the east.

I'm pleased because I got out to do some gardening. The winter tidying never got done this year as I wasn't fit enough, but I was comforted by hearing several gardening experts say that we tidy up too much in the autumn and should leave it all until early spring to protect new shoots from frost. Today I pruned some young apple trees, and tidied the rockery to uncover the emerging shoots of bulbs and primroses. I stopped while I was still enjoying it :-)

This afternoon I went out for a walk and kept walking - all the way to Irongray Church and back on the other side of the Cluden. It's the furthest I've walked since September - 6.78 miles. The hip feels fine, but I'm a little footsore. I took a wee rest in my favourite corner of the churchyard, where these chimes made the wind sound sweet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.