MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Floods

Main photo is taken from St Benedicts Wood and shows the pond which now stretches between the former Eccleston Park Golf Course and the wood. Neither area had even a tiny pond 2 days ago.
The course and the wood are now wetland!
There were hundreds of gulls around.
The extra photos - the grassy one (which has become very boggy and had a suction effect on my wellies) is where there is usually a little stream to a pond adn there is a lovely stone bridge to cross the stream. If you look carefully you can see just the top of the bridge walls! I could not get any closer due to the boggy ground - I was on my own and there was nobody else daft enought to be there so if I got stuck I'd be in trouble.
The other extra photo shows where the path goes through the wood but it's submerged now. The wood has never had any ponds before but it has a few large ones now.
I had a decent walk even though I had to backtrack and divert a few times.
One of my granddaughters lives in Gorton (Manchester) with her partner and only 2 streets from them some houses collapsed due to the sewer collapsing causing a sinkhole and a car fell into the sinkhole.
Feeling relieved that it has rained a lot less today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.