The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Navajo Naja

My mother called this a princess naja and said it was made for a chief’s daughter. I have my doubts about that as I have found no references that might support that. And I know my mother loved a good story and often embellished events to add interest and drama. It is definitely a naja from the first half of the 20th century. Mom and Dad bought it at a Navajo pawn shop in the 1940s. Mom rarely wore it. I inherited it when Mom died. I really like it’s simplicity. I polished it and another silver necklace this morning. I plan to make one of them the subject of this week’s painting assignment. The other piece is by an Oregon artist. I bought it in the Portland airport in a shop that featured local art and products.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.