Team Photo

I thought I’d spare you the leg with my foot sticking out at right angles and have a group selfie.  By the time I woke up they’d put my ankle back and covered my right leg from toe to thigh in a plaster splint.  So what happened?

Well basically I slipped down a bank of no more than a metre in height when I was almost home from my walk.  As I skidded down I must have twisted and I knew immediately that I wouldn’t be walking the rest of the way.  Fortunately I could contact a neighbour on my phone who then alerted some other neighbours who came to find me.  I then dialled 999 as I knew it was serious.  Amazingly i felt only a dull throb unless someone got too close to where it was swollen.  So the mountain rescue team turned up to get me over the stone stile and the ambulance team gave me gas and air and got me to Barnsley hospital.  They were all lovely and jokey (or was that the gas and air?)
I have to go down to theatre today to have my ankle pinned and then maybe I can go home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.