MarkHyson

By MarkHyson

Tool

For the remainder of this week, I'm afraid I'll be posting boring blips, as above.

Foolishly I offered to install a new bathroom for a close friend, gratis! Foolishly because what I thought would be three days work, is now going to be five. I removed the old bath after eventually finding where to turn the hot and cold water supplies off. Behind the end of the bath is a plasterboard wall, or there was supposed to be one... it had pretty much perished due to water ingress. So I've got to pick up a sheet of plasterboard and batten tomorrow morning and half of the day will be sorting the wall out. It'll take a while because the wall I have to attach the batten to is not exactly true, the cottage is about 300 years old! (It has been owned by subsequent generations of the same family since it was built).

So tonight I have left them with no bath, not a complete surprise, but also no water to the adjacent basin. The sharp eyed among you will notice that I've installed in-line service valves, so I won't have to fiddle around turning the water off again. What's the saying, something about 'opening a can of worms'?

I'm shattered! Bath next, followed by chicken salad for tea, a bit of TV and twitter, then an early night.

Sorry, I haven't put the exact location...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.