Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Magpie #15

Lockdown 3.0  Day #18

An easy shopping trip at Sainsbury’s - quick and very quiet - in and out in a flash. Then we had a repeat of yesterday’s walk around Spike Island. Once again the kingfisher was hiding, but I quite liked this magpie up in the tree. 

I saw on Facebook that Lunt Meadows, which is one of our favourite nature reserves has been totally flooded by the collapse of the banks of the river Alt. The carpark is under water and the footpaths are probably under 2-3ft water. It will be a good while before anyone can visit again I imagine (not that we would go there at the moment during lockdown anyway, even if it is only 20 minutes away). But at least it stopped the surrounding residential areas from flooding, which is good. I think if the banks hadn’t broken and the water diverted into the nature reserve, there would have been a lot of houses in the area under water instead. The flooding in Warrington has been far more extensive than I realised and is worse than I’ve ever seen it locally (it’s been on the local news).  Lucky for us, we don’t live near any water so escaped this horrible experience. I feel so sorry for people who have to deal with flooded houses - it normally takes months to sort everything out again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.