Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A beautiful day

It has been a long time since we have had a beautiful day. This morning I woke up to a frosty garden, our first proper frost this winter. Gavin went outside for a run and said the roads were also icy, and he slipped a few times. We have had sunshine all day - what a delight, I had almost forgotten what that is like! It is also the first time I noticed that the days are lightly longer now and more sunshine reaches parts of the garden that previously was in shadow by lunch time. 

Xena went out with P and had a really fun walk in these wonderful conditions. I went grocery shopping - I am noticing a few things that are out of stock which I can only presume is due to Brexit - tomatoes, strawberries, raspberries. We have become spoilt as we are used to getting whatever fruit and vegetable we want at any time of year, but it seems there may be hold ups at getting these items from Europe now.

I pass the river on the way to the supermarket so I stopped off for some photos. I know I have photographed this scene often before but today it was sparkling in that sunshine! The river has burst its banks and it is quite flooded there, see extras.

It was a busy morning with grocery shopping, laundry, making soup - and now it is the weekend again. Although all the days during lockdown seem to merge into one, I do notice the weekends as during the week I never see much of Gavin, even though he is working from home. He disappears upstairs to his office early in the morning and most days I have to remind him to have lunch and he seems to finish late too, coming down as I am serving supper. It is common among many people working from home to be working harder now as it is hard to know when to stop working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.