I've been twitching

A rather chilly start to the day, ice on the birdbath, the goldfish not looking too happy either. Had breakfast, did a load of washing, shower, walked up to fetch the newspaper via the Garrya eliptica 'James Roof'. I spotted it earlier in the week and thought it a possible candidate for Flower Friday. Took some pics but they did'nt do the plant justice, so I'll need to have another go.
A message & phone call from Jorgiesmum. We're off to find the buzzard & kingfisher at Stover Country park ..................... along with everyone else. To be fair I think we were the only visitors twitching, everyone else enjoying the sunshine, & blue skies. Too many people for my liking. Jorgiesmum had cheese titbits, & I had a bag of seed etc. The birds get fed by the visitors all the time so have become quite tame. The cheese went down a treat. The Nuthatch & Robin in the blip being two of the diners. Blue tit, Willow tit, chaffinch, & squirrel aplenty. A wonderful place to bring children. We left without a Kingfisher or buzzard sighting. We said farewell, I headed to the Coop to do Mum's shop.
Back home, a late snack, then I prepared tonight's dinner - Malaysian Roast Chicken with lemongrass, coconut & squash. It's a spin on Chicken Musaman curry, & it works. I used one of my harvested Uchiki Kuri squash. Not all of it just a couple of wedges each. I also added potato chunks, & fresh cauli florets to the roast tray. Cooked hubby's separately adding chilli, which I unfortunately can no longer eat. Served with a coriander & garlic nan, Jasmine rice & purple sprouting florets from the plot. It was delicious, even if I say so myself. It's an easy meal once the paste is prepped. I have lemongrass growing in the greenhouse. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.