A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Stars & Stripes?

At about 1AM this morning I noticed the sky was clear and the stars very bright. Unlike my star-trails on the 12th I just put my camera and tripod just outside my bedroom French window and left it there. As you can see part of the bungalow's roof is in the shot, my set up was quick and aimed roughly at Polaris. 

When I dragged it back in at about 6AM the battery was dead but I expected that. I have no idea how long the exposure was, my camera takes 6 second exposures and overlaps the images into one. I'm guess each trail, if laid on a 24hr clock would indicate the length of the exposure. I'm also guessing the longer the trail the nearer the star.

What intrigues me with this shot is the light on the bottom left. Have I capture as glimpse of the Northern Lights? They were spotted here earlier in the month, which is why I have started to look upwards at night but my app didn't indicate any would be seen, although it is not 100% accurate (think weather predictions...) 

Any ideas?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.