Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Snow

I was tempted once again by today's sunrise, but in the interests of diversity and the possibility of need on a day when I don't get out, I shall leave you only with the imagination to see me rise and greet ... yet another day in lockdown. Actually today was fine, frustrating but ultimately fine. For a start, the snow had fallen in the night - just a little, I suspect all falling around 1am when I saw it as I was getting into bed. So everything looked superficially pretty (doesn't that sound pejorative?) as I washed up after breakfast and proposed another late morning outing.

Now here's a thing. I really wanted to see Benmore Gardens in the snow, to take photos and look at loveliness. But everyone and his auntie tends to go there at the weekend, so that we equally tend to give it a miss. However, the morning is usually fine, so off we went. And it was beautiful. It was also quiet, until the last ten minutes or so, when we were avoiding families (including, I think, composite family groups with a horde of small children) and people with free-running dogs. I heard, bizarrely, an owl hoot from the forest (at midday) and we saw a scampering red squirrel risk his life on the road and make it safely into the gardens. 

Much of the afternoon was spent trying to place quite a large click and collect order for Monday. I haven't yet set up my favourites or a recurring list, so it took me a while - and then the site seemed frozen and I despaired. However, I went off and uploaded some photos, paid it no further heed, and then discovered it had recovered. Phew. And I managed to do 6 Italian exercises ...

Our oldest granddaughter wishes she was staying with us. She wants to walk our walks and talk to us. Can I just say here how very much I'd love that? 

Blipping an amazing tree against the ice of the frozen pond in Benmore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.