It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Sunshine in Leith

The day didn't start off too well. I had a bike race on Zwift. I started off pretty hard, hoping to setting in. However, after smashing the first climb, I felt bad. I even had to reach for my inhaler! The race just went from bad to worse. I stuck in and finished, but it was a struggle.

After a quick cuppa, Rosemary and I headed to Leith Market. Mikey the Sicilian from Tiptico was making nut and seed brittles! You've gotta Google Tiptico. I'm not the world's greatest nut fan but wow.....Mikey has nuts to die for!  The market was actually quite relaxed as they had 'security' limiting the number of people entering. My suggestion that Rosemary needed a small rucksack was misguided.....lunch (including cake), bread, milk and ehhhh pies were all purchased. I'm slightly evangelical about using local producers. I've was the same, even when I was a student and skint. I suppose it is a political act, in which I don't want faceless corporations making money from me. I also think it's important to care about our growers and producers and that they should not treat stuff as a commodity but as a natural resource to be respected. Ok, Mikey's nuts come from Sicily (of course they do) but the passion that comes through and the fact that he's been making them since he was 11 makes them taste all the better.

The walk home was nice too. We saw a robin, tufted ducks, goosanders and excitingly a redwing.  My magic banana powers ran out 5 minutes before home though and I became very hangry. 

I spent the evening drafting an article for my website n had pie, mash and a dram for dinner! Not a bad day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.