madowoi

By madowoi

Little Long Pond

Got out for a walk this morning and rambled around the west side of Little Long Pond. Probably would have been better from a photography standpoint to be on the other side, but I like to avoid the people (and their unleashed dogs, I'm afraid) that more commonly walk out to the boathouse and back. It was quiet, though, and the frozen pond was making eerie, soft echoing noises under the ice. There was a wind from the north blowing a film of snow across the surface with a soft hissing noise that was a bit mesmerizing. None of this, of course, is captured in the photo I chose from my walk.

But here's a poetic outtake I like:

Imagine the sun totally isolated,
Its brightness shot in continuous streaks straight out
Into the black, never arrested,
Never once being made light.

Someone should take note
Of how the earth has saved the sun from oblivion.

From The Significance of Location, by Pattiann Rogers

Now I will call my brother and wish him a happy birthday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.