The eel was still fighting

Trying to rationalise the amalgamation of currently active possessions that we ferried north during the week with what’s been here at the beach house. S has worked very hard to make the kitchen work. I cleared part of the shed, so there’s some extra storage. 

Ended up with another walk this afternoon as the tide neared fully in. The big difference is that I went to the northern end of the beach, and there saw what I’d estimate as over 100 kuaka (bar-tailed godwits) resting until the tide turns. With them were a not dissimilar number of oystercatchers, and a solitary Taranui (Caspian tern). Previous years I’ve seen one with the oystercatchers. Could be the same one. 

But I couldn’t go past my photo of the battle between a karoro (black backed gull) and an eel as today’s blip. The eel looked inert until the karoro tried to swallow it, when it twisted into knots that couldn’t be swallowed. Eventually the bird was the victor. But it looked rather scruffy by then.

And the photo of a kawau paka trying to dry its wings while the rain came made it as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.