The second half of life..

By twigs

New neighbours

I'm obviously still acclimatising to the North Island air - or maybe to being in compulsory relax mode - but once again I slept wonderfully last night and woke late but feeling really good. The day morphed into the same as yesterday but a little bit different...........in other words, I haven't done anything or gone anywhere, much less worried about it.  The end is nigh though - the grey water tank is signalling its need for an empty.

Around lunchtime this bus drew up a few metres along the waterfront - my new neighbours.  I love that they're all rigged up for their holidays......a couple of bikes on the front, some togs flying from bike handlebars, a water craft on the roof, a couple of kids playing chase or tag just the other side of the bus.  Making the most of the last wee while before they resume school for the new year shortly I imagine.....maybe with grand-parents..?  

I found myself thinking about some of the places I'd like to visit on the way north and then, as can often be the case with me, one 'question' leads to researching some answers which throw up more questions and before I know it, I'm on a completely different tack to where I started.  Pleased to say though that one of the tacks I took this afternoon holds the promise of another trip back to the North Island hopefully in November, though possibly earlier.  The Kaimanawa horses are wild horses that roam freely in a small area of the North Island which just happens to be Ministry of Defense land so no public access.  However, a trust group organise a series of photography tours each November to go into the area (with MoD permission!) to photograph them.  There's a chance they may even have another earlier trip approved in the next few weeks, but when that would be planned for I don't know.  Still, the whole idea has huge appeal.  So here I am now with some plans for the end of the year......but still no plans for tomorrow!  I think I was away from school when they taught us about not getting ahead of ourselves.  Hmmm......thinking cap back on, methinks.  Somehow I don't think that going to the dump station and filling up with fresh water will keep me entertained for long tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.