REDWING

It was a sparkling cold blue day today and the cemetery was a lovely walk. The kestrel was about, I saw the greater spotted woodpecker, some collared doves, one of the resident wrens in addition to all the usual tits, blackbirds, wagtails, crows and finches etc, but for the first time I noticed a small flock of redwings moving about and feeding. I got sharper photos than this, but this shows its lovely face markings as well as the red underwing, though I had to enhance it to make it stand out a bit from the background.

I made a delicious sponge cake with buckwheat flour, theoretically gluten-free (though that's not something that affects me), though the packet said it couldn't be guaranteed as this particular one is milled in the same place as wheat flour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.