LesTension

By LesTension

1/22 WhiteTails/Crystal Lake

White-tailed Deer (Odocoileus virginianus); as I was driving past Crystal Lake I saw this group of does descending the hill heading toward the open spring for a drink. I always have a camera with me...so I slowed down, stopped, and made some shots out the car window. It's amazing how tolerant they can be as long as you remain in the car. If you stepped out.......woosh! Gone.

BTW...it's always best to slow down when you eyeball a group of deer. They are well adapted to life in the northwoods but when it comes to automobile savvy, they are not the sharpest knives in the drawer. If one of them decided to bolt across the road the rest will quickly follow. If you haven't slowed down it could get expensive at the body shop. View in LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.