DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Step to it

I’ve had a day of ‘busying’ and as a result my step count is through the roof but my toes are now like sausages!; I’ve hit over 2000 steps!

While I don’t want to overdo it, I’m keen to push myself. I’ve always been independent, so relying so heavily on Mr A for the past few months had been hard on me. Hard on him too I guess.

So while he was at work, I managed to:
Change the bedding
Do a little bit of washing up (we have a dishwasher that does the main bits)
Vacuum the whole house
Tidy the kitchen

I was also going to prep tonight’s tea, but thought I should leave Mr A something to do haha.

In between all my activities, I had a visit from occupational therapy; they’re looking into installing a handrail at the front of the house, down the steps. Today was just an assessment; the contractors will apparently be in touch to come and talk through our options in the next couple of weeks.

We did discuss widening the steps, as that’s the issue I have; they’re too narrow. But since I’m well on the way to recovery, she didn’t think I’d be approved for a grant to have that done, which is fair enough.
The handrail will give me a bit more support once the cage is off and will also benefit our parents (when they’re allowed to visit again!), as they struggle with the steps too.

Today’s blip is my only bit of fresh air; viewing the steps from the front door :-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.