It's Done!

We have a beautiful day here, a good one to play in the water and repot my Kotohemi.   
     I pulled the tree out.  The soil had turned to mud.  The tree was taken over to the grass and the root ball was hosed clean.  Everything was washed out.   Then, I looked through my smaller plastic pots to find one the size of the root ball.   

Many roots had rotted in the mud.  Therefore, a  much smaller pot for repotting, was required.  I prepped  a 3 inch pot and tossed the 23" pot over into the recyclables.   With pearlite added, I began to press soil down into the bottom.  Then I added the root ball, more dirt, then, more pressing, more dirt, and then water.
      The photo on the left is the cleaned out root blah, or what's left of it.   On the right is the fully repotted Kotohemi.    After seeing the condition of the rootball, I am not surprised that the tree wasn't thrifty.   It has a good chance now, but I am hoping it sleeps another month or two.   The more rest it has, the better the chances it will be ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.