The Mondays

That is Monday over and done with. 

It has been a mixed day, with work-at-home the main event. I had run out of energy and/or enthusiasm for what was on my desk. Cabin fever and pandemic fatigue were problems. 

I am long overdue for a few days off - and of course a holiday - but so far I have struggled to commit to a few days away from work when that means just sitting in the house 90% of the time. I was hoping I can hold on until the end of February when spring will be approaching and pandemic restrictions might be less severe. 

The day’s highlight was a phone call to my Cousin Mike which involved lots of laughter. He also was able to give me the inside track on the Brexit fishing debacle because a mutual friend is in a senior position in one of the trade associations. The debacle is what he expected. 

His expert view was always that Brexit could bring some benefits for the industry, but they would be so small it was not worth the trouble. It turned out worse than that. 

My current escapism involves maritime Quebec - the Gaspé area. It is a part of the world I have never visited, but maybe I can when this sh*tshow is all over. Nova Scotia is just down the road (in Canadian terms).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.