fotoday

By fotoday

it was a cold night

At last a change of quaranscene. The same old walks around the village but transformed by yesterday’s snow. The spirits were lifted and I was out most of the day, my legs are complaining now.
First thing I went to the field that has just had Heilan' Coos introduced by the Derbyshire Wildlife Trust for conservation grazing. It is good job they are so hardy with temperatures dropping so cold overnight.
In extras I have dropped a selection of other places I found around the villag, the isolated tree looked more dramatic in mono I thought. Another of the parish church I've blipped often befor, although we had to walk back on our tracks from this route as the stile met what is now an icy lake. After lunch I headed over the river and onto Duffield Bank for views shared with the sheep back over the valley. Finally thanks to Talbot Turf who gave me permission to go onto the valleys flood plain where the frozen ponds here had eye catching "bullet hole" shapes in the ice. It’s a beautiful flat area where they grow grass commercially and the snow covering was untouched.
What a wonderful day in the snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.